Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY — Jubilee Manor

Posted August 23, 2015 by Jess in Book Tour, books, Giveaway, jess, Playlist, Reviews / 2 Comments

Jubilee Manor (Landry Park #2)
by Bethany Hagen
Publisher: Dial/Penguin
Release Date: August 11th 2015
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction

Synopsis:

The thrilling conclusion to Landry Park is full of love, betrayal, and murder–perfect for fans of Divergent, The Selection, andPride and Prejudice.

In Landry Park, Madeline turned her back on her elite family, friends, and estate to help the Rootless. Now, in Jubilee Manor, she struggles to bring the Gentry and the Rootless together. But when Gentry heirs—Madeline’s old friends—are murdered, even she begins to think a Rootless is behind it, putting her at odds with the boy she loves and the very people she is trying to lead. If she can’t figure out who is killing her friends and bring them to justice, a violent war will erupt and even more will die—and Madeline’s name, her estate, and all the bonds she’s forged won’t make any difference.

This conclusion to Landry Park, which VOYA dubbed “Gone with the Wind meets The Hunger Games,” is a richly satisfying, addictive read.

This was SUCH an interesting and unique spin on the dystopian genre. I mean, it was like reading a mixture of future and past, historical fiction and dystopian. I was really digging the concept throughout Landry Park. The whole ‘girl wants to go to learn but instead has to be the family heir’ was an interesting spin as well.  I think I loved this because it has the reminiscent of The Selection, without the bachelorette-style royalty reality show.  It took what I loved about that book and went in a different direction.

Since this is the end of the series, there was a lot to wrap up. I loved that this was a complete series in just two books. It felt like there was enough information in this book to get the story out, but not drag on just to get to that third book. However, I was still a little sad when it was all over.

Jubilee Manor was much more dark, and the murder mystery kept me going (well, wanting to know I was right about my ideas).  There are some crazy twists and turns and things just keep getting more and more dire. The book definitely wasn’t afraid to take risks.

And Madeline was a girl after my own heart. She wasn’t caught up in the details, but she was smart, strong, brave, and not afraid to stand up for what was right or those she loved. And get David and Madeline together and the pages light on fire. The swoon is great. I love how one reviewer compared this book to Pride & Prejudice. That is SUCH an excellent comparison and it really affected how I saw the story.  But D+M = my heart! They were explosive, in their fights and in their love. And I LOVED that.

If you liked the Selection as an idea, if you love Downton Abbey, and if you love dystopian books but are looking for something different, this duology definitely has your name on it.

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Follow the Jubilee Manor by Bethany Hagen Blog Tour and don’t miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.

Bethany Hagen was born and raised in Kansas City. She grew up reading Charlotte Brontë, Jane Austen, and all things King Arthur, and went on to become a librarian. Landry Park is her debut novel.

 

US ONLY

 

 

 

Rating Breakdown
Plot
Characters
Writing
Pacing
Cover
Overall:

Tags: , , , , , ,

Divider

2 responses to “Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY — Jubilee Manor

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge