Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY – Little Monsters

Posted August 22, 2017 by Jess in Book Tour, books, Giveaway, Guest Post, jess / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY – Little MonstersLittle Monsters by Kara Thomas
Published by Delacorte Press on July 25, 2017
Genres: Young Adult, contemporary
Pages: 336
Format: Print, Electronic, Audiobook
Source: the publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.

Scenes from the Cutting Room Floor

I’m sitting in Andrew’s car, engine running.  My phone is ice- cold in my injured hand as I look up the number for Grosso’s butcher shop.

Someone picks up on the second ring. The voice is raspy, male. “’Lo?”

“Is this Jim?” I ask.

“Speaking. What can I do you for?”

Hanging up would be too suspicious. “I’d like to place an order. A big one.”

Jim Grosso sighs. “Hold for me a minute, okay?” I keep my voice even, chipper. “Sure thing.”

When the line clicks, I end the call. I turn on the radio and wait five minutes before I call Grosso’s Hunting and Game. I immediately get a gruff male voice on the phone that sounds like Cliff.

I hang up.

I breathe hot air into my gloves and start the wipers on Andrew’s car. They whisk away the fattening snowflakes landing on the windshield. If the snow keeps up, they’ll have to end the search early. Panic needles me; I shake my head. I have to do this.

I punch a vague address into my phone GPS—Cypress Circle—because I don’t know Cliff’s exact address. The directions lead me down the same back roads Jade and I took the other morning.

When I arrive, the Grossos’ cabin is dark; no smoke billows from the chimney this time. I park far from the house, midway between their property and the nearest neighbor. What the hell am I doing? With shaky hands, I pull the beanie I left on Andrew’s passenger seat over my ears and step out of the car.

I keep toward the edge of the Grossos’ property, hoping the trees and falling snow will obscure me from any prying eyes. The snow packed on the driveway crunches under my feet, despite my efforts to make my footsteps delicate. I glance in the garage; there’s a snowblower, an ATV, but no Jeep Wrangler papered with NRA bumper stickers. Just like I thought, Cliff isn’t home.

Snowflakes catch on my eyelashes as I creep around the side of the house. Footprints. The Grossos will come home and

see my footprints. It’s too late now. I hope it snows harder to cover my tracks and keep plugging away toward the shed.

I freeze. There’s a rustling in the woods, the snapping of twigs. I crane my neck to see better; a fawn stares back at me, a statue except for its jaw working a mouthful of deer feed. I slowly show my hands and it stops chewing. In a flash of brown, it jolts away into the woods.

Overhead, a woodpecker pauses from its tapping. I let out the breath I was holding and continue up to the shed, breathing in through my nose. There’s no rotten smell this time, no stink of blood. The frost paralyzes my nasal cavity, but I can detect pine needles and rust.

I’m brushing my hand over the padlock as a voice sounds around the other side of the shed.

“Don’t move or you’re dead. I mean it.”

All the blood in my body drains to my toes as I see Cliff Grosso coming at me, a crossbow on his shoulder, the tip of the arrow pointed at my heart.


Three winners will receive a finished copy of LITTLE MONSTERS (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Check out the rest of the tour!

Week One:

8/14/2017- YAandWine– Interview

8/15/2017- The Best Books Ever Review

8/16/2017- BookHounds YA– Guest Post

8/17/2017- Tales of the Ravenous Reader– Review

8/18/2017- adventures of a book junkie– Interview

Week Two:

8/21/2017- Portrait of a Book– Review

8/22/2017- Such a Novel Idea– Guest Post

8/23/2017- YA Books Central– Interview

8/24/2017- Feed Your Fiction Addiction– Review

8/25/2017- Home of a Book Lover– Review

About Kara Thomas

Kara is the author of the critically acclaimed THE DARKEST CORNERS. Her new book, LITTLE MONSTERS, is coming July 25th from Random House/Delacorte. She’s written for everything from her high school newspaper to Warner Brothers Television. You can find her on Long Island, bingeing on true crime podcasts and TV shows.

Tags: , , , ,

Divider

One response to “Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY – Little Monsters

Leave a Reply